Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
UK MHRA pharmacy registry
Some of you probably already know about this. In the UK there is a government registry of Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (MHRA) of pharmacies authorised to sell online. This (in theory) means that any pharmacy on the list is not a scam. I don't know how true this is but it is a government website which lists them so it seems quite legit.

Note though that just because a pharmacy is not listed, it does not mean it is a scam. I know a couple examples of this. It seems that this list is more a voluntary thing than mandatory as people can suggest wedsittes to be included. I am not a lawyer though so someone else should weigh in here.

The main site where you can search for pharmacies is here hxxps://medicine-seller-register.mhra.gov.uk/]https://medicine-seller-register.mhra.gov.uk
They list what medicines each pharmacy is allowed by the following types:

#1-General sales list medicines- These are medicines you can buy in shops. In the UK you can get paracetamol, ibuprofen and throat losenges with dichlorobenzyl alcohol like strepsils and others on shop shelves and are easily purchased. 

#2-Pharmacy medicines- These are over the counter (OTC) medicines which you can get from a pharmacy. In the UK these include medicines with codeine/dihydrocodeine with paracetamol, cough medicines with DXM, antihistamines with chlophenamine, strong throat lozenges with flurbiprofen and potentially codeine linctus, though this is quite difficult to acquire.

#3-Prescription only medicines- These generally require an online consultation which can be quite thorough and is reviewed by a doctor. Many medicines are included such as contraceptive pill, light pks, Z drugs antidepressants and many others.